Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory



BBTD logo

The Biosciences & Biotechnology Division (BBTD) lies at the intersection of biological, physical, and engineering sciences. We apply an understanding of fundamental biology to predict and counter emerging biological and chemical threats and to solve problems in health and environmental security.

Explore this page to learn more about our team of collaborative and innovative people.

To learn about the division’s mission and research focus, visit the Biosciences & Biotechnology webpage.

Catherine Adam

Catherine Adam

Staff Scientist

adam1@llnl.gov

+19252965674

Teneile Alfaro

Teneile Alfaro

Staff Scientist

alfaro4@llnl.gov

+19254220642

George profile picture

George Anderson

Staff Scientist

anderson250@llnl.gov

+19254234285

Chris Bailey

Chris Bailey

Staff Scientist

bailey38@llnl.gov

+19254220578

Brian Baker

Brian Baker

Staff Scientist

baker69@llnl.gov

+19254223247

Diane Bauer

Diane Bauer

Staff Scientist

bauer20@llnl.gov

+19252965600

Nicholas profile picture

Nicholas Be

Deputy Group Leader, Genomics

be1@llnl.gov

+19254231612

read Nicholas’s bio

William profile picture

William Bennett

Staff Scientist

bennett69@llnl.gov

+19254226332

read William’s bio

Brian profile picture

Brian Bennion

Staff Scientist

bbennion@llnl.gov

+19254225722

Monica profile picture

Monica Borucki

Microbiologist

borucki2@llnl.gov

+19254244251

read Monica’s bio

Feliza profile picture

Feliza Bourguet

Staff Scientist

bourguet1@llnl.gov

+19254245666

Vanessa profile picture

Vanessa Brisson

Postdoctoral Researcher

brisson2@llnl.gov

+19254237879

read Vanessa’s bio

Deborah Brown-Harris

Deborah Brown-Harris

Staff Scientist

deebrownharris@llnl.gov

+19254226700

Steven profile picture

Steven Buchsbaum

Staff Scientist

buchsbaum1@llnl.gov

+19254226524

read Steven’s bio

Thomas profile picture

Thomas Bunt

Group Leader, Environmental Biology

bunt1@llnl.gov

+19254239093

read Thomas’s bio

Linda Canaan

Linda Canaan

Division Administrator

canaan2@llnl.gov

+19254229388

Tim profile picture

Tim Carpenter

Deputy Group Leader, Biochemical and Biophysical Systems

carpenter36@llnl.gov

+19254222900

read Tim’s bio

Alda profile picture

Alda Carrillo

Staff Scientist

carrillo8@llnl.gov

+19254242127

Teresa Castro

Teresa Castro

Staff Scientist

castro17@llnl.gov

+19254220305

Shoshana Cohen

Shoshana Cohen

Staff Scientist

cohen31@llnl.gov

Matthew profile picture

Matthew Coleman

Senior Biomedical Scientist

coleman16@llnl.gov

+19254237687

read Matthew’s bio

Nicole profile picture

Nicole Collette

Biomedical Scientist

collette2@llnl.gov

+19254232353

read Nicole’s bio

Todd Corzett

Todd Corzett

Staff Scientist

tcorzett@llnl.gov

+19254239849

Ann-Marie Dake

Ann-Marie Dake

Staff Scientist

it8ntny@llnl.gov

+19254220260

Chris Daum

Chris Daum

Staff Scientist

daum1@llnl.gov

+15104958727

Ziye profile picture

Ziye Dong

Postdoctoral Scientist

dong10@llnl.gov

+19254238763

read Ziye’s bio

Jeff profile picture

Jeff Drocco

Staff Scientist

jad@llnl.gov

+19254242161

Larry profile picture

Larry Dugan

Staff Scientist

dugan3@llnl.gov

+19254235539

Maher profile picture

Maher Elsheikh

Staff Scientist

elsheikh2@llnl.gov

+19254245855

Heather profile picture

Heather Enright

Staff Scientist

palko1@llnl.gov

+19254222454

read Heather’s bio

Anne Marie profile picture

Anne Marie Erler

Staff Scientist

erler2@llnl.gov

+19254237516

Nick profile picture

Nick Fischer

Staff Scientist

fischer29@llnl.gov

+19254226144

read Nick’s bio

Francesco profile picture

Francesco Fornasiero

Staff Scientist

fornasiero1@llnl.gov

+19254220089

read Francesco’s bio

Magdalena profile picture

Magdalena Franco

Biomedical Researcher

franco14@llnl.gov

+19254230774

read Magdalena’s bio

Matthias profile picture

Matthias Frank

Staff Scientist

frank1@llnl.gov

+19254235068

Holly profile picture

Holly Franz

Staff Scientist

franz3@llnl.gov

+19254234281

Jim George

Jim George

Staff Scientist

george11@llnl.gov

+19254231256

Sean profile picture

Sean Gilmore

Staff Scientist

gilmore24@llnl.gov

+19254238027

read Sean’s bio

Meghan Goveia

Meghan Goveia

Staff Scientist

goveia1@llnl.gov

+19254237641

Michael Guzman

Michael Guzman

Staff Scientist

guzman30@llnl.gov

+19254245734

Sally Hall

Sally Hall

Staff Scientist

hall79@llnl.gov

+19254236037

Sandra Hamamoto

Sandra Hamamoto

Staff Scientist

hamamoto2@llnl.gov

+19254230510

Miranda profile picture

Miranda Harmon-smith

Staff Scientist

harmonsmith2@llnl.gov

+19252965715

Wei profile picture

Wei He

Biomedical Scientist

he4@llnl.gov

+19254235121

read Wei’s bio

Aubree profile picture

Aubree Hinckley

Staff Scientist

hinckley3@llnl.gov

+19254220457

Pamela profile picture

Pamela Hullinger

Staff Scientist

hullinger1@llnl.gov

+19254237083

Nicholas profile picture

Nicholas Hum

Biomedical Staff Scientist

hum3@llnl.gov

+19254224970

read Nicholas’s bio

Hope Hundley

Hope Hundley

Staff Scientist

hundley5@llnl.gov

+19252965730

Helgi profile picture

Helgi Ingolfsson

Staff Scientist

helgi@llnl.gov

+19254244194

read Helgi’s bio

Crystal profile picture

Crystal Jaing

Staff Scientist

jaing2@llnl.gov

+19254246574

Jasmine Jaing

Jasmine Jaing

Staff Scientist

jaing3@llnl.gov

Yongqin profile picture

Yongqin Jiao

Staff Scientist

jiao1@llnl.gov

+19254224482

Melinda profile picture

Melinda Jue

Postdoctoral Researcher

jue6@llnl.gov

+19254224065

read Melinda’s bio

Staci profile picture

Staci Kane

Staff Scientist

kane11@llnl.gov

+19254227897

Jeffrey profile picture

Jeffrey Kimbrel

Staff Scientist

kimbrel1@llnl.gov

Dan profile picture

Dan Kirshner

Staff Scientist

kirshner1@llnl.gov

+19254224802

Edward profile picture

Edward Kuhn

Staff Scientist

kuhn7@llnl.gov

+19254243560

Doris profile picture

Doris Lam

Postdoctoral Researcher

lam31@llnl.gov

+19254237176

read Doris’s bio

Mikel profile picture

Mikel Landajuela Larma

Postdoctoral Researcher

landajuelala1@llnl.gov

+19254232582

read Mikel’s bio

Victoria profile picture

Victoria Lao

Staff Scientist

lao2@llnl.gov

+19254226168

Edmond profile picture

Edmond Lau

Staff Scientist: Chemist

lau12@llnl.gov

+19254222108

read Edmond’s bio

Matthew Laurence

Matthew Laurence

Staff Scientist

laurence3@llnl.gov

Tek Hyung profile picture

Tek Hyung Lee

Staff Scientist

lee1051@llnl.gov

Felice profile picture

Felice Lightstone

Staff Scientist

felice@llnl.gov

+19254238657

Gaby profile picture

Gaby Loots

Staff Scientist

loots1@llnl.gov

+19254230923

Matt profile picture

Matt Lyman

Staff Scientist

lyman2@llnl.gov

+19254242039

read Matt’s bio

Shalini profile picture

Shalini Mabery

Staff Scientist

mabery1@llnl.gov

+19254233838

Morgan Mabery

Morgan Mabery

Staff Scientist

dieckmann2@llnl.gov

+19254233812

Mike profile picture

Mike Malfatti

Staff Scientist

malfatti1@llnl.gov

+19254225732

Stephanie profile picture

Stephanie Malfatti

Staff Scientist

malfatti3@llnl.gov

+19254231472

Christa Manning

Christa Manning

Staff Scientist

manning27@llnl.gov

+19254238024

Kelly profile picture

Kelly Martin

Staff Scientist

martin249@llnl.gov

+19254224915

Summer Mccloy

Summer Mccloy

Staff Scientist

mccloy2@llnl.gov

+19254244283

Melanie Mendez

Melanie Mendez

Staff Scientist

mendez20@llnl.gov

+19254229983

Nancy profile picture

Nancy Merino

Postdoctoral Researcher

merino4@llnl.gov

+19254247605

read Nancy’s bio

Eric profile picture

Eric Meshot

Staff Scientist

meshot1@llnl.gov

+19254237830

read Eric’s bio

Tuijauna Mitchell-Hall

Tuijauna Mitchell-Hall

Deputy Division Leader, Operations

mitchellhall1@llnl.gov

+19254244469

Michael Morrison

Michael Morrison

Staff Scientist

morrison33@llnl.gov

+19254248110

Kathleen Moyer

Kathleen Moyer

Staff Scientist

moyer9@llnl.gov

+19254235893

Deepa profile picture

Deepa Murugesh

Staff Scientist

murugesh2@llnl.gov

+19254226290

Ali profile picture

Ali Navid

Computational Systems Biologist

navid1@llnl.gov

+19254243564

read Ali’s bio

Jason profile picture

Jason Olivas

Staff Scientist

olivas3@llnl.gov

+19254246167

Wes profile picture

Wes Overton

Biomedical Staff Scientist

overton2@llnl.gov

+19254220928

read Wes’s bio

Dan profile picture

Dan Park

Staff Scientist

park36@llnl.gov

+19254237508

Sei Jin profile picture

Sei Jin Park

Postdoctoral Researcher

park39@llnl.gov

+19254228160

read Sei Jin’s bio

Char Paulo

Char Paulo

Staff Scientist

paulo2@llnl.gov

+19254233730

Megan Pawlowski

Megan Pawlowski

Staff Scientist

pawlowski2@llnl.gov

+19259272813

Sandra profile picture

Sandra Peters

Staff Scientist

peters25@llnl.gov

+19254238025

Ashlee M. Phillips

Ashlee M. Phillips

Staff Scientist

phillips95@llnl.gov

+19254229747

Jana Quan

Jana Quan

Staff Scientist

quan8@llnl.gov

Amy profile picture

Amy Rasley

Staff Scientist

rasley2@llnl.gov

+19254231284

read Amy’s bio

Kristen profile picture

Kristen Reese

Staff Scientist

reese27@llnl.gov

+19254231988

Naiomy Rios-Arce

Naiomy Rios-Arce

Staff Scientist

riosarce1@llnl.gov

+19254234361

Kristina Rolison

Kristina Rolison

Staff Scientist

rolison3@llnl.gov

+19254236043

Bonnee Rubinfeld

Bonnee Rubinfeld

Staff Scientist

rubinfeld1@llnl.gov

+19254237956

Sarah Sahota

Sarah Sahota

Staff Scientist

sahota2@llnl.gov

+19254246698

Edmund Salazar

Edmund Salazar

Staff Scientist

salazar2@llnl.gov

+19254233616

Kristina Sanchez

Kristina Sanchez

Staff Scientist

sanchez82@llnl.gov

+19254236228

Kirsten Schreiber

Kirsten Schreiber

Staff Scientist

schreiber2@llnl.gov

+19254224620

Aimy profile picture

Aimy Sebastian

Research Scientist

sebastian4@llnl.gov

+19254229893

read Aimy’s bio

Brent profile picture

Brent Segelke

Staff Scientist

segelke1@llnl.gov

+19254244752

read Brent’s bio

Megan profile picture

Megan Shelby

Staff Scientist

shelby4@llnl.gov

+19254231319

Brian Souza

Brian Souza

Staff Scientist

souza21@llnl.gov

+19254234642

Benjamin profile picture

Benjamin Stewart

Staff Scientist

stewart66@llnl.gov

+19254242819

read Benjamin’s bio

Cheryl Strout

Cheryl Strout

Staff Scientist

strout2@llnl.gov

+19254225691

Rhona profile picture

Rhona Stuart

Staff Scientist

stuart25@llnl.gov

+19254223493

Delin Sun

Delin Sun

Staff Scientist

sun25@llnl.gov

+19254243433

Tanya Tanner

Tanya Tanner

Staff Scientist

tanner12@llnl.gov

+19254237683

James profile picture

James Thissen

Staff Scientist

thissen3@llnl.gov

+19254236216

Salustra profile picture

Salustra Urbin

Staff Scientist

urbin2@llnl.gov

+19254229320

Lisa profile picture

Lisa Vergez

Staff Scientist

vergez1@llnl.gov

+19254237632

Vicki Walsworth

Vicki Walsworth

Staff Scientist

walsworth1@llnl.gov

+19254245464

Anna Wang

Anna Wang

Staff Scientist

wang97@llnl.gov

Dina profile picture

Dina Weilhammer

Staff Scientist

weilhammer1@llnl.gov

+19254222977

read Dina’s bio

Dawn profile picture

Dawn Whalen

Staff Scientist

whalen3@llnl.gov

+19254233626

Lewis profile picture

Lewis Wogan

Staff Scientist

wogan2@llnl.gov

+19254239760

Jessica profile picture

Jessica Wollard

Staff Scientist

wollard1@llnl.gov

+19254232797

Sergio Wong

Sergio Wong

Staff Scientist

wong105@llnl.gov

+19254242338

Kuang Jen profile picture

Kuang Jen Wu

Staff Scientist

wu17@llnl.gov

+19254221915

Yue profile picture

Yue Yang

Staff Scientist

yueyang@llnl.gov

+19254236698

Xiyu Yi

Xiyu Yi

Staff Scientist

yi10@llnl.gov

+19254244250

Mimi profile picture

Mimi Yung

Staff Scientist

cho14@llnl.gov

+19254227750

Matthew Zane

Matthew Zane

Staff Scientist

zane2@llnl.gov

+19252965659

Xiaohua profile picture

Xiaohua Zhang

Staff Scientist

zhang30@llnl.gov

+19254222414

read Xiaohua’s bio

Yuliang profile picture

Yuliang Zhang

Staff Scientist

zhang42@llnl.gov

+19254232628

Fangqiang Zhu

Fangqiang Zhu

Staff Scientist

zhu13@llnl.gov

+19254230920