Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

January 8, 2016

Kersting receives 2016 ACS Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal

Annie Kersting

LLNL geochemist Annie Kersting, who serves as the director of the Lab's Glenn T. Seaborg Institute, has been selected to receive the 2016 American Chemical Society (ACS) Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal for distinguished service to chemistry. The medal recognizes outstanding scientific achievement, leadership and service to chemistry by women and is a national award open to all chemists who are U.S. citizens. "I was very surprised and humbled because this award is open to all chemists, not just chemists in my field, and there are many outstanding women chemists worthy of this award," said Kersting, who started at the Lab in 1992 as a postdoc. Kersting is well known, both nationally and internationally, for her work in actinide environmental chemistry. She was one of the first scientists to show that insoluble radionuclides, like plutonium, could travel several kilometers in the subsurface environment as suspended, nanometer-sized colloidal particles. This work changed the way scientists think about migration of insoluble actinides. Kersting's educational outreach activities span the range from elementary schoolchildren to postdocs. Kersting will receive the ACS Medal and $5,000 at an awards dinner at the 251st ACS National Meeting in San Diego on March 15.