Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

The Physical and Life Sciences Directorate (PLS) is comprised of these five divisions:

Atmospheric, Earth and Energy Division (AEED)

AEED supports the Laboratory's defense, global security, and fundamental science programs by conducting research and development in the disciplines of atmospheric, earth, and energy science.

AEED fact sheet 

Biosciences and Biotechnology Division (BBTD)

BBTD performs research in genome biology, computational biology, molecular toxicology, biochemical structures, assays, genetics, microbial systems, and medical technology. The division works at the intersection of these areas using advances in nanotechnology, imaging, and measurement science.

BBTD fact sheet 

Materials Science Division (MSD)

MSD conducts research and development at the intersection of chemical and nuclear science in support of LLNL's national security missions. MSD personnel provide expertise in organic/inorganic, synthetic, analytical, computational, nuclear, and environmental chemistry, to solve problems in stockpile stewardship and other national security programs.

MSD fact sheet 

Nuclear & Chemical Sciences Division (NACS)

As the home for the nuclear, chemical, and isotopic science and technology core competency for LLNL, NACS provides innovative and responsive science in support of the programs and performs discovery-class science ahead of the programs.

NACS fact sheet 

Physics Division (Physics)

The Physics Division conducts frontier physics research and development in fields ranging from astrophysics and planetary science, to atomic, condensed matter, plasma and high energy density physics. This work includes advanced science and technology development in optical and x-ray science, detectors, predictive modeling and simulation, dynamic/static extreme environments, lasers, space, and fusion. These research and development activities place LLNL at the leading edge of 21st century national security missions.

Physics fact sheet