Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory



BBTD logo

The Biosciences & Biotechnology Division (BBTD) lies at the intersection of biological, physical, and engineering sciences. We apply an understanding of fundamental biology to predict and counter emerging biological and chemical threats and to solve problems in health and environmental security.

Explore this page to learn more about our team of collaborative and innovative people.

To learn about the division’s mission and research focus, visit the Biosciences & Biotechnology webpage.

no profile picture

Abisola Abisoye-Ogunniyan

Staff Scientist

abisoyeogunn1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Catherine Adam

Scientific Technologist

adam1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Teneile Alfaro

Staff Scientist

alfaro4@llnl.gov

George Anderson

George Anderson

Staff Scientist

anderson250@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Chris Bailey

Staff Scientist

bailey38@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Brian Baker

Staff Scientist

baker69@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Diane Bauer

Staff Scientist

bauer20@llnl.gov

Nicholas Be

Nicholas Be

Deputy Group Leader, Genomics

be1@llnl.gov

read Nicholas’s bio

no profile picture

Audrey Beil

Staff Scientist

beil1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Ingrid Bello

Staff Scientist

bello4@llnl.gov

William Bennett

William Bennett

Staff Scientist

bennett69@llnl.gov

read William’s bio

Brian Bennion

Brian Bennion

Staff Scientist

bennion1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Paola Bisignano

Staff Scientist

bisignano1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Chandrakumar Reddy Bogguri

Staff Scientist

bogguri1@llnl.gov

Monica Borucki

Monica Borucki

Microbiologist, Research Scientist

borucki2@llnl.gov

read Monica’s bio

Feliza Bourguet

Feliza Bourguet

Research Scientist

bourguet1@llnl.gov

Vanessa Brisson

Vanessa Brisson

Postdoctoral Researcher

brisson2@llnl.gov

read Vanessa’s bio

no profile picture

Deborah Brown-Harris

Administrative Support

brownharris1@llnl.gov

read Deborah’s bio

Steven Buchsbaum

Steven Buchsbaum

Research Scientist

buchsbaum1@llnl.gov

read Steven’s bio

Thomas Bunt

Thomas Bunt

Group Leader, Environmental Biology

bunt1@llnl.gov

read Thomas’s bio

Linda Canaan

Linda Canaan

Division Administrator

canaan2@llnl.gov

Tim Carpenter

Tim Carpenter

Deputy Group Leader, Biochemical and Biophysical Systems

carpenter36@llnl.gov

read Tim’s bio

no profile picture

Isabella Carrano

Staff Scientist

carrano4@llnl.gov

Alda Carrillo

Alda Carrillo

Staff Scientist

carrillo8@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Teresa Castro

Office Manager

castro17@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Patrick Cervantes

Staff Scientist

cervantes16@llnl.gov

Matthew Coleman

Matthew Coleman

Staff Scientist

coleman16@llnl.gov

read Matthew’s bio

Nicole Collette

Nicole Collette

Staff Scientist

collette2@llnl.gov

read Nicole’s bio

no profile picture

Todd Corzett

Staff Scientist

corzett2@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Ann-Marie Dake

Institutional Review Board (IRB) Program Manager

dake1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Chris Daum

Staff Scientist

daum1@llnl.gov

Ziye Dong

Ziye Dong

Postdoctoral Researcher

dong10@llnl.gov

read Ziye’s bio

Jeff Drocco

Jeff Drocco

Research Scientist

drocco1@llnl.gov

Larry Dugan

Larry Dugan

Research Scientist

dugan3@llnl.gov

Maher Elsheikh

Maher Elsheikh

Staff Scientist

elsheikh2@llnl.gov

Heather Enright

Heather Enright

Staff Scientist

enright3@llnl.gov

read Heather’s bio

Anne Marie Erler

Anne Marie Erler

Staff Scientist

erler2@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Sarah Fellows

Staff Scientist

fellows6@llnl.gov

Nick Fischer

Nick Fischer

Staff Scientist

fischer29@llnl.gov

read Nick’s bio

Francesco Fornasiero

Francesco Fornasiero

Staff Scientist

fornasiero1@llnl.gov

read Francesco’s bio

Matthias Frank

Matthias Frank

Deputy Group Leader, BioNanomaterials

frank1@llnl.gov

Holly Franz

Holly Franz

Direct Reports

franz3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Jim George

Research Scientist

george11@llnl.gov

Konstantia Georgouli

Konstantia Georgouli

Postdoctoral Researcher

georgouli1@llnl.gov

read Konstantia’s bio

Sean Gilmore

Sean Gilmore

Staff Scientist

gilmore24@llnl.gov

read Sean’s bio

no profile picture

Travis Gollott

Staff Scientist

gollott2@llnl.gov

Michael Guzman

Michael Guzman

Postdoctoral Researcher

guzman30@llnl.gov

read Michael’s bio

no profile picture

Sally Hall

Staff Scientist

hall79@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Tiffany Halvorsen

Staff Scientist

halvorsen1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Sandra Hamamoto

Staff Scientist

hamamoto2@llnl.gov

Miranda Harmon-smith

Miranda Harmon-smith

Staff Scientist

harmonsmith2@llnl.gov

Wei He

Wei He

Research Scientist

he4@llnl.gov

read Wei’s bio

Aubree Hinckley

Aubree Hinckley

Research Scientist

hinckley3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Steven Hoang-Phou

Staff Scientist

hoangphou1@llnl.gov

Pamela Hullinger

Pamela Hullinger

Staff Scientist

hullinger2@llnl.gov

Nicholas Hum

Nicholas Hum

Biomedical Staff Scientist

hum3@llnl.gov

read Nicholas’s bio

no profile picture

Hope Hundley

Staff Scientist

hundley5@llnl.gov

Helgi Ingolfsson

Helgi Ingolfsson

Staff Scientist

ingolfsson1@llnl.gov

read Helgi’s bio

Crystal Jaing

Crystal Jaing

Genomics, Group Leader

jaing2@llnl.gov

Yongqin Jiao

Yongqin Jiao

Group Leader, Systems and Synthetic Biology

jiao1@llnl.gov

read Yongqin’s bio

Melinda Jue

Melinda Jue

Postdoctoral Researcher

jue6@llnl.gov

read Melinda’s bio

Staci Kane

Staci Kane

Research Scientist

kane11@llnl.gov

Jeffrey Kimbrel

Jeffrey Kimbrel

Research Scientist

kimbrel1@llnl.gov

read Jeffrey’s bio

Dan Kirshner

Dan Kirshner

Staff Scientist

kirshner1@llnl.gov

Edward Kuhn

Edward Kuhn

Staff Scientist

kuhn7@llnl.gov

Kris Kulp

Kris Kulp

Division Leader

kulp2@llnl.gov

read Kris’s bio

Doris Lam

Doris Lam

Postdoctoral Researcher

lam31@llnl.gov

read Doris’s bio

Victoria Lao

Victoria Lao

Staff Scientist

lao2@llnl.gov

Edmond Lau

Edmond Lau

Staff Scientist: Chemist

lau12@llnl.gov

read Edmond’s bio

no profile picture

Matthew Laurence

Staff Scientist

laurence3@llnl.gov

Tek Hyung Lee

Tek Hyung Lee

Staff Scientist

lee1051@llnl.gov

read Tek Hyung’s bio

Felice Lightstone

Felice Lightstone

Group Leader, Biochemical and Biophysical Systems

lightstone1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Jacky Lo

Staff Scientist

lo11@llnl.gov

Gaby Loots

Gaby Loots

Group Leader, Human Health Sciences

loots1@llnl.gov

Matt Lyman

Matt Lyman

Deputy Group Leader, BioSecurity & BioForensics

lyman2@llnl.gov

read Matt’s bio

Shalini Mabery

Shalini Mabery

Staff Scientist

mabery1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Morgan Mabery

Central Services, Lead

mabery2@llnl.gov

Mike Malfatti

Mike Malfatti

Deputy Group Leader, Human Health Sciences

malfatti1@llnl.gov

Stephanie Malfatti

Stephanie Malfatti

Staff Scientist

malfatti3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Christa Manning

Staff Scientist

manning27@llnl.gov

Kelly Martin

Kelly Martin

Staff Scientist

martin249@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Summer Mccloy

Staff Scientist

mccloy2@llnl.gov

Melanie Mendez

Melanie Mendez

Staff Scientist

mendez20@llnl.gov

Nancy Merino

Nancy Merino

Postdoctoral Researcher

merino4@llnl.gov

read Nancy’s bio

Eric Meshot

Eric Meshot

Staff Scientist

meshot1@llnl.gov

read Eric’s bio

Tuijauna Mitchell-Hall

Tuijauna Mitchell-Hall

Deputy Division Leader, Operations

mitchellhall1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Michael Morrison

Staff Scientist

morrison33@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Kathleen Moyer

Staff Scientist

moyer9@llnl.gov

Deepa Murugesh

Deepa Murugesh

Staff Scientist

murugesh2@llnl.gov

Ali Navid

Ali Navid

Staff Scientist

navid1@llnl.gov

read Ali’s bio

Jason Olivas

Jason Olivas

Staff Scientist

olivas3@llnl.gov

Wes Overton

Wes Overton

Deputy Group Leader, BioSecurity and BioForensics

overton2@llnl.gov

read Wes’s bio

Dan Park

Dan Park

Staff Scientist

park36@llnl.gov

read Dan’s bio

Sei Jin Park

Sei Jin Park

Postdoctoral Researcher

park39@llnl.gov

read Sei Jin’s bio

no profile picture

Char Paulo

Business Analyst, Administrative Support

paulo2@llnl.gov

Sandra Peters

Sandra Peters

Staff Scientist

peters25@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Ashlee M. Phillips

Staff Scientist

phillips95@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Roxanna Pignolet

Staff Scientist

pignolet1@llnl.gov

Amy Rasley

Amy Rasley

Deputy Group Leader, Microbiology/ Immunology

rasley2@llnl.gov

read Amy’s bio

no profile picture

Meghan Reiss

Staff Scientist

reiss6@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Naiomy Rios-Arce

Staff Scientist

riosarce1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Kristina Rolison

Staff Scientist

rolison3@llnl.gov

read Kristina’s bio

no profile picture

Bonnee Rubinfeld

Research Scientist

rubinfeld1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Edwin A. Saada

Staff Scientist

saada1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Edmund Salazar

Staff Scientist

salazar2@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Sarah Sandholtz

Staff Scientist

sandholtz3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Kirsten Schreiber

Staff Scientist

schreiber2@llnl.gov

Aimy Sebastian

Aimy Sebastian

Research Scientist

sebastian4@llnl.gov

read Aimy’s bio

Brent Segelke

Brent Segelke

Staff Scientist

segelke1@llnl.gov

read Brent’s bio

Megan Shelby

Megan Shelby

Staff Scientist

shelby4@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Brian Souza

Group Leader, BioSecurity & BioForensics

souza21@llnl.gov

Benjamin Stewart

Benjamin Stewart

Staff Scientist

stewart66@llnl.gov

read Benjamin’s bio

no profile picture

Cheryl Strout

Staff Scientist

strout2@llnl.gov

Rhona Stuart

Rhona Stuart

Staff Scientist

stuart25@llnl.gov

read Rhona’s bio

no profile picture

Delin Sun

Staff Scientist

sun25@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Courtney Swink

Staff Scientist

swink2@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Tanya Tanner

Staff Scientist

tanner12@llnl.gov

James Thissen

James Thissen

Staff Scientist

thissen3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Esther Ubick

Staff Scientist

ubick1@llnl.gov

Salustra Urbin

Salustra Urbin

Staff Scientist

urbin2@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Byron Vannest

Staff Scientist

vannest1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Helena Van Tol

Staff Scientist

vantol2@llnl.gov

Lisa Vergez

Lisa Vergez

Staff Scientist

vergez1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Vicki Walsworth

Staff Scientist

walsworth1@llnl.gov

Dina Weilhammer

Dina Weilhammer

Staff Scientist

weilhammer1@llnl.gov

read Dina’s bio

Dawn Whalen

Dawn Whalen

Administrative Support

whalen3@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Stephen Wilson

Staff Scientist

wilson265@llnl.gov

Lewis Wogan

Lewis Wogan

Staff Scientist

wogan2@llnl.gov

Jessica Wollard

Jessica Wollard

Staff Scientist

wollard1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Sergio Wong

Staff Scientist

wong105@llnl.gov

Kuang Jen Wu

Kuang Jen Wu

Group Leader, BioNanomaterials

wu17@llnl.gov

Yue Yang

Yue Yang

Staff Scientist

yang30@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Xiyu Yi

Staff Scientist

yi10@llnl.gov

Mimi Yung

Mimi Yung

Deputy Group Leader, Systems and Synthetic Biology

yung6@llnl.gov

read Mimi’s bio

no profile picture

Matthew Zane

Staff Scientist

zane2@llnl.gov

Xiaohua Zhang

Xiaohua Zhang

Staff Scientist

zhang30@llnl.gov

read Xiaohua’s bio

no profile picture

Fangqiang Zhu

Staff Scientist

zhu13@llnl.gov