Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory



BBTD logo

The Biosciences & Biotechnology Division (BBTD) lies at the intersection of biological, physical, and engineering sciences. We apply an understanding of fundamental biology to predict and counter emerging biological and chemical threats and to solve problems in health and environmental security.

Explore this page to learn more about our team of collaborative and innovative people.

To learn about the division’s mission and research focus, visit the Biosciences & Biotechnology webpage.

no profile picture

Abisola Abisoye-Ogunniyan

Staff Scientist

abisoyeogunn1@llnl.gov

no profile picture

Catherine Adam

Staff Scientist

adam1@llnl.gov

+19252965674

no profile picture

Teneile Alfaro

Staff Scientist

alfaro4@llnl.gov

+19254220642

George Anderson

George Anderson

Staff Scientist

anderson250@llnl.gov

+19254234285

no profile picture

Chris Bailey

Staff Scientist

bailey38@llnl.gov

+19254220578

no profile picture

Brian Baker

Staff Scientist

baker69@llnl.gov

+19254223247

no profile picture

Diane Bauer

Staff Scientist

bauer20@llnl.gov

+19252965600

Nicholas Be

Nicholas Be

Deputy Group Leader, Genomics

be1@llnl.gov

+19254231612

read Nicholas’s bio

William Bennett

William Bennett

Staff Scientist

bennett69@llnl.gov

+19254226332

read William’s bio

Brian Bennion

Brian Bennion

Staff Scientist

bennion1@llnl.gov

+19254225722

no profile picture

Paola Bisignano

Staff Scientist

bisignano1@llnl.gov

Monica Borucki

Monica Borucki

Microbiologist

borucki2@llnl.gov

+19254244251

read Monica’s bio

Feliza Bourguet

Feliza Bourguet

Staff Scientist

bourguet1@llnl.gov

+19254245666

Vanessa Brisson

Vanessa Brisson

Postdoctoral Researcher

brisson2@llnl.gov

+19254237879

read Vanessa’s bio

no profile picture

Deborah Brown-Harris

Staff Scientist

brownharris1@llnl.gov

+19254226700

Steven Buchsbaum

Steven Buchsbaum

Staff Scientist

buchsbaum1@llnl.gov

+19254226524

read Steven’s bio

Thomas Bunt

Thomas Bunt

Group Leader, Environmental Biology

bunt1@llnl.gov

+19254239093

read Thomas’s bio

no profile picture

Linda Canaan

Division Administrator

canaan2@llnl.gov

+19254229388

Tim Carpenter

Tim Carpenter

Deputy Group Leader, Biochemical and Biophysical Systems

carpenter36@llnl.gov

+19254222900

read Tim’s bio

Alda Carrillo

Alda Carrillo

Staff Scientist

carrillo8@llnl.gov

+19254242127

no profile picture

Teresa Castro

Staff Scientist

castro17@llnl.gov

+19254220305

no profile picture

Shoshana Cohen

Staff Scientist

cohen31@llnl.gov

Matthew Coleman

Matthew Coleman

Senior Biomedical Scientist

coleman16@llnl.gov

+19254237687

read Matthew’s bio

Nicole Collette

Nicole Collette

Biomedical Scientist

collette2@llnl.gov

+19254232353

read Nicole’s bio

no profile picture

Todd Corzett

Staff Scientist

corzett2@llnl.gov

+19254239849

no profile picture

Ann-Marie Dake

Staff Scientist

dake1@llnl.gov

+19254220260

no profile picture

Chris Daum

Staff Scientist

daum1@llnl.gov

+15104958727

Ziye Dong

Ziye Dong

Postdoctoral Scientist

dong10@llnl.gov

+19254238763

read Ziye’s bio

Jeff Drocco

Jeff Drocco

Staff Scientist

drocco1@llnl.gov

+19254242161

Larry Dugan

Larry Dugan

Staff Scientist

dugan3@llnl.gov

+19254235539

Maher Elsheikh

Maher Elsheikh

Staff Scientist

elsheikh2@llnl.gov

+19254245855

Heather Enright

Heather Enright

Staff Scientist

enright3@llnl.gov

+19254222454

read Heather’s bio

Anne Marie Erler

Anne Marie Erler

Staff Scientist

erler2@llnl.gov

+19254237516

Nick Fischer

Nick Fischer

Staff Scientist

fischer29@llnl.gov

+19254226144

read Nick’s bio

Francesco Fornasiero

Francesco Fornasiero

Staff Scientist

fornasiero1@llnl.gov

+19254220089

read Francesco’s bio

Magdalena Franco

Magdalena Franco

Biomedical Researcher

franco14@llnl.gov

+19254230774

read Magdalena’s bio

Matthias Frank

Matthias Frank

Staff Scientist

frank1@llnl.gov

+19254235068

Holly Franz

Holly Franz

Staff Scientist

franz3@llnl.gov

+19254234281

no profile picture

Jim George

Staff Scientist

george11@llnl.gov

+19254231256

Sean Gilmore

Sean Gilmore

Staff Scientist

gilmore24@llnl.gov

+19254238027

read Sean’s bio

no profile picture

Meghan Goveia

Staff Scientist

goveia1@llnl.gov

+19254237641

no profile picture

Michael Guzman

Staff Scientist

guzman30@llnl.gov

+19254245734

no profile picture

Sally Hall

Staff Scientist

hall79@llnl.gov

+19254236037

no profile picture

Sandra Hamamoto

Staff Scientist

hamamoto2@llnl.gov

+19254230510

Miranda Harmon-smith

Miranda Harmon-smith

Staff Scientist

harmonsmith2@llnl.gov

+19252965715

Wei He

Wei He

Biomedical Scientist

he4@llnl.gov

+19254235121

read Wei’s bio

Aubree Hinckley

Aubree Hinckley

Staff Scientist

hinckley3@llnl.gov

+19254220457

Pamela Hullinger

Pamela Hullinger

Staff Scientist

hullinger2@llnl.gov

+19254237083

Nicholas Hum

Nicholas Hum

Biomedical Staff Scientist

hum3@llnl.gov

+19254224970

read Nicholas’s bio

no profile picture

Hope Hundley

Staff Scientist

hundley5@llnl.gov

+19252965730

Helgi Ingolfsson

Helgi Ingolfsson

Staff Scientist

ingolfsson1@llnl.gov

+19254244194

read Helgi’s bio

Crystal Jaing

Crystal Jaing

Staff Scientist

jaing2@llnl.gov

+19254246574

no profile picture

Jasmine Jaing

Staff Scientist

jaing3@llnl.gov

Yongqin Jiao

Yongqin Jiao

Staff Scientist

jiao1@llnl.gov

+19254224482

Melinda Jue

Melinda Jue

Postdoctoral Researcher

jue6@llnl.gov

+19254224065

read Melinda’s bio

Staci Kane

Staci Kane

Staff Scientist

kane11@llnl.gov

+19254227897

Jeffrey Kimbrel

Jeffrey Kimbrel

Staff Scientist

kimbrel1@llnl.gov

Dan Kirshner

Dan Kirshner

Staff Scientist

kirshner1@llnl.gov

+19254224802

Edward Kuhn

Edward Kuhn

Staff Scientist

kuhn7@llnl.gov

+19254243560

Doris Lam

Doris Lam

Postdoctoral Researcher

lam31@llnl.gov

+19254237176

read Doris’s bio

Mikel Landajuela Larma

Mikel Landajuela Larma

Postdoctoral Researcher

landajuelala1@llnl.gov

+19254232582

read Mikel’s bio

Victoria Lao

Victoria Lao

Staff Scientist

lao2@llnl.gov

+19254226168

Edmond Lau

Edmond Lau

Staff Scientist: Chemist

lau12@llnl.gov

+19254222108

read Edmond’s bio

no profile picture

Matthew Laurence

Staff Scientist

laurence3@llnl.gov

Tek Hyung Lee

Tek Hyung Lee

Staff Scientist

lee1051@llnl.gov

Felice Lightstone

Felice Lightstone

Staff Scientist

lightstone1@llnl.gov

+19254238657

Gaby Loots

Gaby Loots

Staff Scientist

loots1@llnl.gov

+19254230923

Matt Lyman

Matt Lyman

Staff Scientist

lyman2@llnl.gov

+19254242039

read Matt’s bio

Shalini Mabery

Shalini Mabery

Staff Scientist

mabery1@llnl.gov

+19254233838

no profile picture

Morgan Mabery

Staff Scientist

mabery2@llnl.gov

+19254233812

Mike Malfatti

Mike Malfatti

Staff Scientist

malfatti1@llnl.gov

+19254225732

Stephanie Malfatti

Stephanie Malfatti

Staff Scientist

malfatti3@llnl.gov

+19254231472

no profile picture

Christa Manning

Staff Scientist

manning27@llnl.gov

+19254238024

Kelly Martin

Kelly Martin

Staff Scientist

martin249@llnl.gov

+19254224915

no profile picture

Summer Mccloy

Staff Scientist

mccloy2@llnl.gov

+19254244283

no profile picture

Melanie Mendez

Staff Scientist

mendez20@llnl.gov

+19254229983

Nancy Merino

Nancy Merino

Postdoctoral Researcher

merino4@llnl.gov

+19254247605

read Nancy’s bio

Eric Meshot

Eric Meshot

Staff Scientist

meshot1@llnl.gov

+19254237830

read Eric’s bio

no profile picture

Tuijauna Mitchell-Hall

Deputy Division Leader, Operations

mitchellhall1@llnl.gov

+19254244469

no profile picture

Michael Morrison

Staff Scientist

morrison33@llnl.gov

+19254248110

no profile picture

Kathleen Moyer

Staff Scientist

moyer9@llnl.gov

+19254235893

Deepa Murugesh

Deepa Murugesh

Staff Scientist

murugesh2@llnl.gov

+19254226290

Ali Navid

Ali Navid

Computational Systems Biologist

navid1@llnl.gov

+19254243564

read Ali’s bio

Jason Olivas

Jason Olivas

Staff Scientist

olivas3@llnl.gov

+19254246167

Wes Overton

Wes Overton

Biomedical Staff Scientist

overton2@llnl.gov

+19254220928

read Wes’s bio

Dan Park

Dan Park

Staff Scientist

park36@llnl.gov

+19254237508

Sei Jin Park

Sei Jin Park

Postdoctoral Researcher

park39@llnl.gov

+19254228160

read Sei Jin’s bio

no profile picture

Char Paulo

Staff Scientist

paulo2@llnl.gov

+19254233730

Sandra Peters

Sandra Peters

Staff Scientist

peters25@llnl.gov

+19254238025

no profile picture

Ashlee M. Phillips

Staff Scientist

phillips95@llnl.gov

+19254229747

Amy Rasley

Amy Rasley

Staff Scientist

rasley2@llnl.gov

+19254231284

read Amy’s bio

Kristen Reese

Kristen Reese

Staff Scientist

reese27@llnl.gov

+19254231988

no profile picture

Naiomy Rios-Arce

Staff Scientist

riosarce1@llnl.gov

+19254234361

no profile picture

Kristina Rolison

Staff Scientist

rolison3@llnl.gov

+19254236043

no profile picture

Bonnee Rubinfeld

Staff Scientist

rubinfeld1@llnl.gov

+19254237956

no profile picture

Sarah Sahota

Staff Scientist

sahota2@llnl.gov

+19254246698

no profile picture

Edmund Salazar

Staff Scientist

salazar2@llnl.gov

+19254233616

no profile picture

Kristina Sanchez

Staff Scientist

sanchez82@llnl.gov

+19254236228

no profile picture

Kirsten Schreiber

Staff Scientist

schreiber2@llnl.gov

+19254224620

Aimy Sebastian

Aimy Sebastian

Research Scientist

sebastian4@llnl.gov

+19254229893

read Aimy’s bio

Brent Segelke

Brent Segelke

Staff Scientist

segelke1@llnl.gov

+19254244752

read Brent’s bio

Megan Shelby

Megan Shelby

Staff Scientist

shelby4@llnl.gov

+19254231319

no profile picture

Brian Souza

Staff Scientist

souza21@llnl.gov

+19254234642

Benjamin Stewart

Benjamin Stewart

Staff Scientist

stewart66@llnl.gov

+19254242819

read Benjamin’s bio

no profile picture

Cheryl Strout

Staff Scientist

strout2@llnl.gov

+19254225691

Rhona Stuart

Rhona Stuart

Staff Scientist

stuart25@llnl.gov

+19254223493

no profile picture

Delin Sun

Staff Scientist

sun25@llnl.gov

+19254243433

no profile picture

Tanya Tanner

Staff Scientist

tanner12@llnl.gov

+19254237683

James Thissen

James Thissen

Staff Scientist

thissen3@llnl.gov

+19254236216

Salustra Urbin

Salustra Urbin

Staff Scientist

urbin2@llnl.gov

+19254229320

no profile picture

Byron Vannest

Staff Scientist

vannest1@llnl.gov

Lisa Vergez

Lisa Vergez

Staff Scientist

vergez1@llnl.gov

+19254237632

no profile picture

Vicki Walsworth

Staff Scientist

walsworth1@llnl.gov

+19254245464

no profile picture

Anna Wang

Staff Scientist

wang97@llnl.gov

Dina Weilhammer

Dina Weilhammer

Staff Scientist

weilhammer1@llnl.gov

+19254222977

read Dina’s bio

Dawn Whalen

Dawn Whalen

Staff Scientist

whalen3@llnl.gov

+19254233626

Lewis Wogan

Lewis Wogan

Staff Scientist

wogan2@llnl.gov

+19254239760

Jessica Wollard

Jessica Wollard

Staff Scientist

wollard1@llnl.gov

+19254232797

no profile picture

Sergio Wong

Staff Scientist

wong105@llnl.gov

+19254242338

Kuang Jen Wu

Kuang Jen Wu

Staff Scientist

wu17@llnl.gov

+19254221915

Yue Yang

Yue Yang

Staff Scientist

yang30@llnl.gov

+19254236698

no profile picture

Xiyu Yi

Staff Scientist

yi10@llnl.gov

+19254244250

Mimi Yung

Mimi Yung

Staff Scientist

yung6@llnl.gov

+19254227750

no profile picture

Matthew Zane

Staff Scientist

zane2@llnl.gov

+19252965659

Xiaohua Zhang

Xiaohua Zhang

Staff Scientist

zhang30@llnl.gov

+19254222414

read Xiaohua’s bio

no profile picture

Fangqiang Zhu

Staff Scientist

zhu13@llnl.gov

+19254230920